Blog Task – My Media Use and Identity

If I had to choose three favourite forms of media, I would have to say games, anime and my paper stash. And those three things tie in so seamlessly together. The games and anime provide the inspiration which I then draw down onto my paper, or write down into stories.

World-Of-Warcraft-LogoGames are my main source of inspiration, with such captivating story that I am able to interact with, its where I go to first when I need to find more ideas. PC games such as “World of Warcraft” are good places to start, with its many different story and quest lines, its not hard to find inspiration or get lost within the story. The same is so with other games like “Legend of Zelda” games or “Fire Emblem” games for Nintendo consoles. They have such captivating stories that are well thought out and take time to complete, instead of being just “finished in one afternoon” kind of story.

Charlotte_keySomething else that can’t be completed in an afternoon (unless you are crazy) is a full season of Anime. Doesn’t stop anyone from trying to watch it all in an afternoon. Anime like Sword Art Online, Charlotte and Black Butler are another source of inspiration, but also entertainment. I love watching anime, animations in general, to find mistakes in the animation, or inconsistencies in the story. Its just funny to me when I notice one frame where the animation has been left uncoloured in some part of the image, or when there is a jump in a walk or run cycle. But other than a source of amusement, I love the art style of anime. It is amazing. I love watching the characters move around their worlds, taking in all the detail of the art style involved.

failure_means_the_loss_of_everything__sketch__by_frostieheart-da69y1pFinally we come to my paper stash. Lined paper, white paper, coloured paper, used paper, even handmade paper! I have it all. Paper is my life, because without it I wouldn’t be able to draw or write my stories (No, Microsoft Word and Adobe Photoshop do not travel with me everywhere, paper does.) As can be seen in my sketch to the side, I use a semi-anime art style in my drawings. This particular drawing compliments my short story “Failure Means the Loss of Everything”, showing what I envisioned when I wrote the story, and how I saw Icetail (right) and Montague (left) as they conversed.

And that is what I have to say on the topic of media. I hope you enjoyed reading this post.

If you wish to read my story that the last image is related to, please click this link to head to the last chapter of “Tragic Is Only Another Word For Pain”:
https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8507009/19/Tragic-Is-Only-Another-Word-For-Pain

If you want to read more of my stories, please head over to my profile on FanFiction.net here:
https://www.fanfiction.net/u/3395518/Icetail-of-WindClan-Meta-If

And if you would like to see more of my art, please head over to my DeviantArt profile here:
http://frostieheart.deviantart.com/

Thanks for reading through this post

~Icetail38~

DISCLAIMER: World of Warcraft, Fire Emblem, The Legend of Zelda, Charlotte, Black Butler, and Sword Art Online are all owned by their respective companies. All I own is the sketch image and the story and profiles I have mentioned.

2 thoughts on “Blog Task – My Media Use and Identity

  1. 'Kota Buck says:

    I feel like this is less of a reflection on the types of media you consume and more a discussion of your favourite things. In the first two examples you kind of glance off the idea of placing value on long-form media and I would like to see this idea unpacked more because I think that it’s a valuable insight into your media consumption.
    I hope this is helpful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

