Animation: Asset Production

Hello to everyone reading my blog! For the past couple of weeks I have been working on a polearm/spear asset that is suitable for use in a game engine, as stated by my assessment brief. The brief stated that the asset had to be a hard surface model, not organic.

Model 4In total my polearm is measured around 400cm high with a  total of 204 polygons. The average character/weapon model in games has a poly count between 10k and 30k. While my polearm might not have as much detail as a weapon from a game like World of Warcraft or Final Fantasy, I still like the way it turned out, and my weapon will run in online games, since it only has one texture that it has to render.

Hollyleaf-WeapWhat gave me the idea for this polearm was my character’s weapon in World of Warcraft. I really liked the exotic look of the polearm, namely; the shape of the spearhead and the detail along the staff and on the blade. I also looked up images of other spears on Google, to try to inspire my design.

9790img-thingpolearms_felspine131104_teng

From these images I sketched my design for my polearm. DrawingScanned

Model 5As I was modelling my polearm in 3ds Max I decided that I really wanted to give it a glow or a dust cloud effect like the Death Knight weapons in World of Warcraft after Runeforging. It was a cool idea, but I don’t have the time to work out how to add it, so, unfortunately, I do not have the glow around the blade of the weapon. If you do know how to, or you can direct me to a tutorial that can show me how to add it, then please comment below, I would really like to know how to add the glow to my polearm.

Polearm-UV-Difuse M2Due to lack of time, I also didn’t get to make a high-poly model of my asset, but my texture makes up for what I couldn’t do with normal maps and etc, although my texture could still be better, where the runes are on the blade and the way the green design is spread.

Modelling the polearm didn’t bring many problems, although some edges and faces didn’t shape the way I wanted them to, potentially due to the fact that my computer mouse sometimes fails to move or moves unexpectedly. Several times the modelling would annoy me too much and I would have to force myself away from the computer, causing me to lose time.

These issues aside, I am still pleased with the way my polearm turned out. It looks amazing and I hope you think so too. If you have any suggestions please comment and, again, if you can direct me towards tutorials for particle/cloud/glow effects in either 3ds Max, Adobe After Affects or Adobe Premiere Pro, I would gladly welcome advice.

polearm-final-render.jpg

 

Reference List
Leave a Reply

